The Summer edition read-along

We’re excited to announce our first bookclub. And we’re thrilled to be launching this seasonal book club with @sloane_reads

We’ll be reading along together and then at the end of each month we’ll have the pleasure of interviewing each author, live on Instagram. Our intention with this selection is to highlight modern Canadian fiction and strong female voices, offering an opportunity and space for reflection.

Please following along with both @welcometomaple and @sloane_reads as we get a jump start on our summer reads. Also follow #themaplebookclub for updates.

Maple’s June read is Letters Across the Sea by Genevieve Graham,
published by Simon & Schuster, 2021.

Inspired by a little-known chapter of World War II history, a young Protestant girl and her Jewish neighbour are caught up in the terrible wave of hate sweeping the globe on the eve of war in this powerful love story that’s perfect for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. We’re excited to dive into the beginnings of summer with this read, culminating with a live chat with author Genevieve Graham at 4pm PT / 7pm ET June 24th, on Instagram.

Maple’s July read is Gutter Child by Jael Richardson,
published by Harper Collins Canada, 2021

Every once in a while, a book comes along that offers you pause. A book that invites you to examine the system that you live in. Richardson’s Gutter Child reveals one young woman’s journey through a fractured world of heartbreaking disadvantages and shocking injustices. A modern heroine, Elimina , lives in an altered but all too recognizable reality who must find the strength within herself to forge her future and defy a system that tries to shape her destiny. A live interview with author Jael Richardson will be held on July 28th at 4pm PT / 7pm ET on Instagram.

Maple’s August read is How To Pronounce Knife by Souvankham Thammavongsa, published by Penguin Random House Canada, 2020

Our final read almost doesn’t need an introduction but we’re honoured to include it in our lineup. Winner of the 2020 Scotiabank Giller Prize and a #1 Canadian National Bestseller. Souvankham Thammavongsa establishes herself as an essential new voice in Canadian and world literature. Told with compassion and wry humour, this collection of stories honour characters struggling to find their bearings far from home.

Now that you've got the titles - the important detail of WHERE to purchase your books. We're lovers of the printed page, so of course, we recommend to put down your digital device and "shop indie". Support your local bricks and mortar book retailer. And we've got a list for you! Here's a map of Canadian independent book retailers.

Happy Reading!